#5: The Storyteller

By Jodi Picoult

The Storyteller By Jodi Picoult

Dates Started/Ended: March 24-March 30 (I’m behind, I know.)

Author: Jodi Picoult

Genre: Fiction with historical ties

Pages: 480

This book. I was HIGHLY anticipating this book and for good reason. First of all, Picoult is my favorite author, so naturally, I was ecstatic to find a new book coming out; then I read the synopsis. People who know me well know that high on my interest list you will find serial killers, the Holocaust, & football among other things. So when I found out my favorite author was publishing a book about the Holocaust I couldn’t wait to read it.

While I haven’t quite read all of Picoult’s books (I like to save a few for when I need a go-to book) I am willing to bet that this will remain my #1 favorite. It will take a lot to knock this one down from the top spot. So, about the book…

This main character of the story, Sage Singer, is a woman who has suffered great loss in her life. She is a baker, she works at night and is just, in general, what I consider a lost soul. She meets an elderly man named Josef Weber in her grief support group & they strike up an unlikely friendship.

At first glance, I would imagine that every small town has their own Josef. He is known around town, volunteers, he even is the umpire for the local little league. Then, he reveals his deepest, darkest, corrupt secret to Sage. He asks something of Sage that if she were to do, would test more than just her morals.

What I love about this book: Like every Picoult book, the story is told from multiple perspectives of the characters. One chapter you are hearing Sage’s thoughts, the next, it is Josef narrating the story. She does this extremely well and really allows for deep character development. Instead of knowing one character really well, you end up knowing everyone in the story on a deeper level. The characters are really well done & I felt an attachment to them from the very beginning.

I also like the choice that you will wrestle with, like in any Picoult book. She puts the character in a tough situation, between “a rock and a hard place” if you will, and you journey with them through their decision making process. In this particular book you will find the character in a struggle between what is morally right for her family, her friendship and her country and at what does it take to truly forgive someone for the darkest of secrets.

Be prepared. The story is excruciatingly authentic to the time period it is set in. There were definitely some points that I just had to close the book and just think. . .about what life had to have been like for Jews during that time period in history.

If you are looking for something to read I would highly recommend this!

Leave a Reply

